Of Peace and Productivity

Life is busy.

Chances are, there are too many things in your schedule and not enough time in your day. 

In fact, you probably don’t even have time to read this post. 

But consider this:

There can be peace in productivity.

Okay, now you can get on with your day. But if that hijacked some part of your brain and sparked some interest, here’s more. 

My guides say:

There is proclivity in the understanding that there can be peace in productivity.

Peace and productivity don’t often reside in the same sentence. But when they do, it can be habit-forming and life-changing.

Here’s why:

The frenetic energy associated with today’s view of productivity is one of spending more than you are making energy-wise, which leaves you depleted at the end of the day. 

But this is far from the truth of what it means to be productive.

As our to-do lists grow and our time shrinks, we slink further toward that pit of exhaustion. Why? It was explained to me by my guides that our unnaturally strong drive to accomplish things is the energy of war.

War in its most subtle form.

Our minds are sneaky. So are the societal constructs which support this perpetual energy depletion: More. More. More. Do more. Buy more. Be more. 

It naturally follows that we must be much more productive today than we were yesterday.  So we hype ourselves up on caffeine, we jam pack our schedules, we sprint from one thing to another with no time to catch our breath. 

Yes, we play it off as the internal motivation to succeed, but when we look inside, it’s not that at all. In fact, it’s a combination of fear of the future, anger at what has been and a lack of appreciation for the unfolding of the moment.

None of that is how we were created. And it’s not the energy of the future, either.

Here’s how peace and productivity play together:  

When you flow with the energy of the moment, expressing in the ways you are designed to express and creating in the ways you are inspired to create, then you KNOW that all is well.

This creates a synergy.

You become one with the energy of your body and mind and soul.

In that you find peace.

And this is where true productivity hides.

Here is an excerpt from the channeling session where I first learned of this concept:

  • Them: When you decide to banish the energy of war within you and in your life, then you will come more into alignment with your soul self.  This is how they separate you and how you separate yourself from full soul alignment until it is time.
  • Me: How do I know when it is time?
  • Them: You get to decide.
  • Me: So if I choose now, then how do I get rid of the energy of war?
  • Them: You stop. You can make it hard if you want, but really all you do is just stop. Remember, war is not your natural state of being. Therefore, you can just step more fully into that which you know as love and light.

There are four steps I have been playing with.

Uncovering true productivity through peace:

  1. Find war where it hides: War energy is sneaky and often silent. The cool part is that it often infiltrates in a distinguishable pattern. Yours will be unique to you. It might be in the aggressive schedule you lay out for yourself, or the To Do list that grows rather than shrinks. For me, the war energy was obvious at the end of the weekend. As far back as I can remember, I encountered what I termed “Sunday Night Syndrome”. Essentially, I became a royal bitch every Sunday night due to a combination of looking forward to having my freedom taken away on Monday morning and looking back at how I could have gotten more done in my weekend free time if I hadn’t been so exhausted from having my freedom taken away all week long. This anger propelled me into a number of actions against myself. 
  2. Weigh it Up: Once you bring it to light, it is often very obvious that it doesn’t stack up against your true loving nature. Just in case it’s super sneaky, take this step. Ask it a few questions. How is this act making me a better person? (Key, if you can answer this…it’s an act of war simply because you are a damn good person already. War energy says you have to be better. Love energy says: You’re awesome!) Another question: Is this the energy of love and light? Clearly, my Sunday Night Syndrome wasn’t love and light or it wouldn’t hold the name “syndrome”.
  3. Can I drop it? The answer may be no. Say you’ve set a 27 step plan to grab your next big goal. You’ve followed all the latest productivity advice. You have an elaborate schedule, reminders in your phone, an accountability partner and you’re even getting up an hour earlier every morning just to stay on track. Then ask the softer question, which part brings me the least peace? Take a baby step toward bringing that back into alignment. It might be as simple as crossing one thing off your To Do list that has been on there for months and you know you’ll never make it a priority. Divest yourself of the expectation that you know you’ll never live up to. That frees up energy!
  4. Find your Peace: In much the same way that we tracked War to its roots, find the peace in your life. And then feed it more energy. Heap the appreciation on! Every time you are living that moment of peace, love it, be grateful for it. When you’re not living it. Love it even more! For me, in the instance of my Sunday Night Syndrome, the direct contrast was Friday Night Fun. I had no plan, zero expectations, and leaned fully into the feeling of pleasure. Why? Because I felt like I deserved it. (in truth, I deserve to live that every day). Just the appreciation of it (instead of the guilt on Sunday night because I didn’t spend that time being productive), infuses it with peace. It lets Friday Night Fun  peacefully exist in my week as a banner for the possibility of living in flow.  

These simple steps help balance the scales. We’re working this from both angles…dialing down war and dialing up peace. Really all of this leads back to one thing: energy exchange. Energy is a commodity. We make energy in the realm of peace, we expend it in the realm of war. When we’re balancing these two out, our energy balances as well. And when we’re making more than we’re expending, then everything changes. 

The key is  to let things unfold in the perfect time. Your time. You decide. 

It may take awhile or, like my guides said, you may be able to just drop it. It’s not our natural state, but it is so deeply ingrained in us and infused in societal messages that it may be hard to just pivot into something new. 

Honestly, I have spent many years battling my sense of productivity. I waged war on myself for never quite reaching my goals or living up to my impossibly high standards. I tried countless productivity techniques, joined innumerable challenges, even bought whole courses designed to help me overcome my lack of getting-shit-done-ness. I even went to my guides for this particular channeling session out of sheer frustration. 

Luckily, the truth of their words cut through the fog of lies in my brain.

The latest productivity hacks mostly consist of war energy. If I didn’t deem my life as less productive than it should be, I wouldn’t have even looked twice at the methods offered to change me. 

Self-criticism feeds the cycle. 

Judgment is war energy of the worst kind. War against the self. You can’t retreat or re-strategize when the war is on your own turf. 

So when you’re ready. Dive in! Free up some energy and put it toward bringing your genius into our now and making our future a lively, beautiful place to be!

I really appreciate you taking the time to read my words. I hope you gleaned a tidbit of information or pleasure…or both!

If you are inspired to do so, here are 3 free ways to meet up with me:

If you like short, digestible bits of information …Follow some of my social media accounts: Facebook: Personal Equivalent Coaching

Or Melinda Perkins Author.
Facebook Profile: Melinda Perkins
Instagram: @‌personal_equivalent_coaching
Instagram Personal Account: @‌melindaperkins505

If you like to do personal development work in the privacy of your own home, Check out the FREE stuff on my website which include topics such as “Heart-Centered Decision Making” here.

If you love to listen and learn, check out the podcast version of these blog posts.

Leave a comment