Healing Home – Honing Focus

Okay, so I am super excited! Yesterday, being my one month marker of “not working”…. This Monday is the first day we roll out our ‘virtual school’ program for our students for the rest of the year. While our teacher is doing everything else, I get to do the fun bit…create read-aloud book videos for our kids to watch from home.

So, today I have been speed-learning a new medium for me. I am a writer, not a YouTuber. I prefer to remain blissfully behind the pen creating images through words. But that’s not going to fly with my active little ones….so video it is!

And it is a process! Consequently, I have spent lots of time fiddling with focus. (And my first video is churned out!)

So here I sit on my porch as the sun sinks low in the sky and I am still thinking about focus.

My dad used to work with this concept.

The Focuser vs. The Observer

The way he put it was, are you a

Regurgitator of “what is” … a reactor?

Or are you a steadfast focuser – a creator?

And, truly, we are both. But the more we do the latter, the more closely our lives will align with our dreams.

I think this is especially important now, when there is so much going on around us, both wanted and uh…not…

So here is a visual…

I spent an inordinate amount of time messing with a little external webcam today. And what I realized is that it focuses on what is in front of it. Whether it is the pictures and words…that I want the kids to be able to see….or my fingers that have to hold the page. (Yeah, I am totally sure there are easier ways to do this…). My point? The camera doesn’t discern what I want (or what my viewers need to see)…It just focuses on what is in front of it.

And that brings me back to us as humans. Do we focus just on what is in front of us, even if it is a not-so-flash manicure instead of words that will make us smarter??

Here’s another visual…

I am sitting here on my front porch and a plethora things surround me. There are seeds that have blown in from the trees that need to be swept up, there are bushes in need of a trim. There are vines that are reaching, but have nothing to cling to.

And then, there are birds that chirp from the trees, a little pot of bright yellow chrysanthemums, tiny lily plants just pushing up through the earth and the occasional roadrunner that pauses just at the step to say hi.

The observer takes it all in, giving as much attention to the work that is left undone as to the magical things transpiring. 

The focuser does things a bit differently. Realizing that focus is energy and each subject of attention elicits a vibrational response in the body, they are going to sift through the available subjects and pick the ones that bring a higher vibration. Thus, taking control of their vibration, emotional state of content/discontent, with the power of their focus.

A final note: At every moment, there are things that uplift our vibration and things that will drag us down. Simple things. Small things. Details. And these are a great place to start fine-tuning yourself into a powerful focuser. Then you will have practiced with the little things and easily shift into being an adept focuser when crisis comes knocking.

Play with it! See what you think (and feel!)

Happy Healing!

One thought on “Healing Home – Honing Focus”

Leave a comment